Honking banned in 14 easternmost districts


TAPLEJUNG–The local authorities have issued a ban on honking horns in 14 districts including Taplejung of Province no 1 except for emergency conditions.

The Eastern Regional Traffic Police Office imposed the ban on vehicle horns as per the decision taken by the local authorities in the districts.

The ban will be effective from today in Taplejung, Paanchthar, Ilam, Jhapa, Morang, Sunsari, Terhathum, Dhankuta, Bhojpur, Sankhuwasabha, Solukhumbu, Khotang, Okhaldhunga and Udayapur.

The traffic police in all the districts have also launched awareness programmes to inform the public and the local transport entrepreneurs of the new order. The transport entrepreneurs have also been issued the notice of the ban.

The decision was taken jointly by Transport Management Department, Road Department, District Traffic Police Office and District Administration Office.

The ban aims to reduce sound pollution as the drivers are given to honking horns unnecessarily. The drivers may honk their horns at the turning points, during emergency scenarios of likely collisions and to avoid ramming into pedestrians.

The authorities will slap a fine of Rs 500 for first time violators, and Rs 1000 and Rs 1500 for second and third time offenders, Taplejung’s Traffic Chief Tanka Neupane said.RSS