NC, MC and RJP agree to forward constitution amendment


Kathmandu — Nepali Congress, CPN (Maoist Centre), and Rastriya Janata Party (RJP) have agreed to forward the constitution amendment process.

The meeting coordinated by Prime Minister and Nepali Congress President Sher Bahadur Deuba centered on the demands of the Madhesi parties, including the amendment of the constitution, said RJP leader Mahantha Thakur, adding that once the government addressed the 3-point agreement it had with the RJP, election for the third round was possible on September 18.

According to him, all parties said they would make efforts from their sides to forge an agreement.

Similarly, Nepali Congress leader Bimalendra Nidhi said the discussion was held to create an atmosphere conducive to hold the remaining elections successfully.

The meeting also decided that the parties would engage actively to garner the two-thirds majority to pass the constitutional amendment bill.

Deputy Prime Minister and MC leader Krishna Bahadur Mahara said all sides concerned would take initiatives for agreement. Discussion with other parties would also be held for this, he added.

The meeting was attended by PM Deuba, MC Chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal, DPM and Education Minister Gopal Man Shrestha, Finance Minister Gyanendra Bahadur Karki, Home Minister Janardan Sharma, NC senior leader Ram Chandra Poudel, General Secretary Dr Sashank Koirala, leader Prakash Man Singh, MC leaders Basha Man Pun, Ram Bahadur Thapa, Matrika Yadav and RJP leaders Thakur, Rajendra Mahato, Mahendra Ray Yadav, Anil Jha, and Raj Kishor Yadav. RSS