Nepal: 27 political parties receive election symbols


KATHMANDU – The Election Commission has awarded existing election symbols to 27 political parties as per the act related to local elections.

The number of parties getting existing election symbols reached 27 following the Supreme Court order on Samajwadi Janta Party of Minister Prem Bahadur Singh. The commission earlier had deregistered Singh’s party for not submitting details of income and expenditure and awarded symbols to only 26 parties. Sigh’s party ‘s symbol, a half-sized moon, has been placed in the 27th position.

The commission has listed the parties on the basis of votes secured in the Second Constituent Assembly (CA) election. Nepali Congress (election symbol: tree) is on the top followed by CPN-UML (Sun) and CPN-Maoist Center (hammer and sickle).