Pokharel elected International Jhapali Chair


BHADRAPUR — Dinesh Kumar Pokharel has been elected the chair of International Jhapali society, an association of residents of Jhapa district currently living abroad.

A resident of Durgapur in Kankai municipality-7, Pokharel has been living in Australia for the past 12 years. He was elected to the post unanimously by the first international convention of the society that concluded in Birtamode on Wednesday.

Chattra Subba, currently in Hong Kong was elected the senior Vice-chair, and Dipak Prasad Oli (middle-east), Lalit Kumar Neupane (Europe), Rupraj Mainali (Australia), Pramod Sitoula (USA) and Raju Santoshi and Prem Karki (Korea) were elected the Vice-chair.

Rohit Kumar Bhandari was elected the General Secretary, Bhupal Sitoula the Secretary and Bal Hari Rai the Treasurer of the Society. More than 150 Jhapalis living in 18 different countries took part in the convention.

On the occasion, newly elected Chair of the Society Pokharel said that the new executive committee will work for the prosperity and development of Jhapa while making an effort to expand the Society chapters across the globe. RSS