Top leaders commit to abide by election code of conduct


KATHMANDU — Top leaders of the major parties represented in the Legislature-Parliament have committed to abide by in letter and spirit the code of conduct of the election to the members of the House of Representatives and the State Assemblies scheduled for November 26 and December 7.

They expressed this commitment in the discussions the Election Commission organized with the political parties regarding the abidance to the code of conduct here on Friday in connection with the elections.

The commitment letter reads – “Taking into account the fact that the election is the foundation of democracy and that only a free, fair and credible election strengthened and supported good governance, we are committed to make the election to the members of the House of Representatives and State Assemblies taking place on November 26 and December 7 well-managed and dignified.”

It is stated in the letter of commitment signed by the parties that the parties are committed to abide by the points contained in the Election Code of Conduct, 2072 and the Election Code of Conduct for the Election to the Members of the House of Representatives and the State Assemblies, 2074 that the Election Commission issued with the active participation of the political parties.

On the occasion, the political party leaders also pledged to always follow and make the concerned sides follow the points mentioned in the code of conducts, in heart, words and deeds.

Prime Minister and Nepali Congress president Sher Bahadur Deuba, CPN (UML) chairman KP Sharma Oli and the party’s parliamentary deputy leader Subas Nembang and CPN (Maoist Centre) chairman Pushpa Kamal Dahal signed the letter of commitment.

Similarly, Nepali Congress senior leader Ram Chandra Paoudel, RPP leader Buddhiman Tamang, RPP (Democratic) chairman Pashupati Shumsher Rana, CPN (ML) general secretary CP Mainali, Federal Socialist Forum Nepal chairman Upendra Yadav, Nepal Loktantrik forum leader Ram Janam Chaudhary, Rastriya Janamorcha chairman Chitra Bahadur KC and leader of the Nepal Workers and Peasants Party, Prem Suwal among other leaders, signed on the commitment letter. RSS